Scripted Data Source Question

Hi All,

I am relatively new to BIRT reporting (approximately 6 months or so) and I am using version 3.7.2 with Eclipse. My understanding of java and javascript is limited at this point, but I catch on quick.

I am trying to create a scripted data source (set?)(I think this is what I need) to use in a report that's already using an XML data source. Currently, from the XML data source I have a data set and from it I have a text field (called userString1) that has a delimited format like so...

[category,value][startdate,date][enddate,date][somefield,value];[category,value][startdate,date][enddate,date][somefield,value]

Where each [,] represents a field with a label and a value and ; equals a new row. This format is flexible and can be altered to whatever, just trying to represent the fact that I have a field with data crammed in it that needs to be parsed and converted into fields and rows that can be used in a table.

Is it possible to use this field (userString1) from the XML data source to build a scripted data source? If not what other options do I have? I need place a table on my report that contains the data from userString1.

I am hoping that someone can provide me with a good example that will not only help me with this specific task, but also jump start my understanding of java while I read and get up to speed.

Thanks in advance.

David

Comments

• mwilliamsmwilliams BIRT Guru
    edited December 1969
    Hi David,

Yes, you can use a scripted dataSet to separate this field into multiple rows. In your original dataSet's onFetch script, you'd need to store the values into an array, to use in your scripted dataSet. Then, in your scripted dataSet, you'd step through the array and create your rows.

Another possibility would be to just use script to separate the field into separate rows, in a text box, within the table bound to your original dataSet.

Regards,

Michael Williams